Community Search
Sign In

Latest News
University Film Video Association
Share |


The University Film and Video Association (UFVA) is an organization of professors, scholars, and film and video makers.The organization is based in the U.S.; it has members throughout the world. The UFVA is an international organization where media production and writing meet history, theory and criticism. The UFVA members are image-makers and artists, teachers and students, archivists and distributors, college departments, libraries, and manufacturers. UFVA holds an annual conference and publishes the Journal of Film and Video, a periodical featuring articles on film and video production, history, theory, criticism, and aesthetics. The UFVA is one of the principal U.S. academic organizations for studying media.



President (2018-2020)
Laura Vazquez
Northern Illinois University

Past President 
Heather Addison
University of Nevada - Las Vegas


Executive Vice-President (2017-2019)
Joseph Brown
Marquette University

Conference Vice-President (2017-2019)
H.D. Motyl
Southern Illinois University

Conference Vice-President Elect 
Wenhwa Tsao
Columbia College Chicago

Editorial Vice-President (2018-2020)
Konstantia Kontaxis
University of Miami


Secretary (2018-2020)
Jennifer Proctor
University of Michigan - Dearborn

Treasurer (2017-2019)
Tom Sanny
Colorado College


Board of Directors

William M. Akers
Belmont University

Ruth B. Goldman
Buffalo State

Vaun Monroe
Wiley College

Bart Weiss
University of Texas - Arlington

Christina Lane
University of Miami

Karen Loop
Columbia College Chicago


Journal of Film and Video
Steve Tropiano
Ithaca College


Scholarships/Grants Office
Casey Hayward
Bentley University


Student Representative
Dustin Zemel
Louisiana State University


UFVA Home Office
Andrea Meyer

Journal Subscriptions


University of Illinois Press
866-244-0626, 217-244-0626
(fax) 217-244-9910


Home Office: